Speakers of Ghana’s Parliaments – 1st to 4th Republic [Infographic]

Ghana Ghana News

Ghana’s governance history has seen 13 people leading the legislature as Speakers of Parliament.

From Sir Emmanuel Charles Quist who assumed the office on the day of Ghana’s independence, 6th March 1957 to Alban Sumana Bagbin, elected on January 7, 2021, the tall list features only one woman, Joyce Bamford Addo.

She served from 2009 to 2013.

Except for Daniel Francis Annan who served two 4-year terms, 1993 to 2001, all other Speakers of Parliament served one 4-year term [those in the 4th Republic] or less [those before the 1st, 2nd and 3rd Republic].

Find details in the infographic below: 

Citi News

Leave a Reply