Australia celebrate victory
Australia left it late to secure their win
New Zealand (22) 39
Tries: Ioane, Reece, Papalii, Jacobson 2 Cons B Barrett, J Barrett 3 Pens B Barrett, J Barrett
Argentina (0) 0
South Africa (11) 26
Tries: Mbonambi, Marx 2 Cons Pollard Pens Pollard 3
Australia (19) 28
Try Kellaway Con Cooper Pens Cooper 7

Quade Cooper kicked a dramatic penalty after the hooter to help Australia beat world champions South Africa in the Rugby Championship.

Cooper, who played the last of his 70 Tests in 2017 against Italy, returned to the international fold last month.

And the 33-year-old was his side’s hero, finishing with 23 points.

Earlier, New Zealand thrashed Argentina to secure their third bonus-point win in as many matches to stay top of the table.

Cooper held his nerve to strike the ball sweetly from 40 metres out on an angle after scrum-half Nic White poached the ball from the last scrum in a nerve-wracking finish.

Andrew Kellaway had scored the Wallabies’ only try on 17 minutes but Cooper’s boot kept them in contention.

The Springboks scored all three of their tries from lineout drives, with Malcolm Marx grabbing two and the other coming from Bongi Mbonambi.


South Africa: le Roux, Nkosi, Am, de Allende, Mapimpi, Pollard, de Klerk, Kitshoff, Mbonambi, Malherbe, Etzebeth, De Jager, Kolisi, Mostert, Vermeulen.

Replacements: Marx, Nche, Koch, van Staden, Smith, Wiese, H. Jantjies, Willemse.

Australia: Banks, Kellaway, Ikitau, Kerevi, Koroibete, Cooper, McDermott, Bell, Fainga’a, Alaalatoa, Rodda, Philip, Swinton, Hooper, Valetini.

Replacements: Kaitu’u, Slipper, Tupou, Leota, Samu, White, Hodge, Petaia.

Referee: Luke Pearce (RFU)

New Zealand: J. Barrett, Reece, R. Ioane, Havili, Bridge, B. Barrett, Perenara, Tuinukuafe, Aumua, Laulala, Retallick, S. Barrett, A. Ioane, Papali’i, Jacobson.

Replacements: Taukeiaho, Moody, Lomax, Vaa’i, Blackadder, Weber, McKenzie, Tupaea.

Argentina: Mallia, Delguy, Moroni, de la Fuente, Carreras, Sanchez, Bertranou, Gigena, Montoya, Medrano, Petti, Alemanno, Matera, Kremer, Bruni.

Replacements: Bosch, Muzzio, Pieretto, Lavanini, Gonzalez,Garcia, Chocobares, Boffelli.

Referee: Nic Berry (Australia)

Around the BBC iPlayer bannerAround the BBC iPlayer footerSource: BBC

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *