The Minister for Transport, Kwaku Ofori Asiamah, has urged the newly constituted board of the National Road Safety Authority (NRSA) to assemble all the necessary resources needed to tackle the issue of road carnage in Ghana.

Touting the country’s efforts in ensuring road safety, the Minister at the inauguration ceremony on Friday, September 10, 2021, noted that Ghana seems to be doing something right as the country “has gained international recognition in road safety management culminating in some awards” over the years.

However, recent statistics show an alarming trend. About 14,000 persons sustain various degrees of injuries and over 2,000 persons are killed on roads annually.

Between January to April 2021 alone, road crashes have killed more than 1,000 people in the country, according to the Director-General of the National Road Safety Authority, Ing. May Obiri Yeboah.


This situation, if not treated without urgent intervention, would only get worse.

In that regard, Mr. Ofori Asiamah tasked the new 13-member board of the NRSA to “marshal all the necessary resources to address this canker”.

He continued, “Global best practices have proven that investment in road safety interventions is very crucial to yield the required positive results. It is, therefore, my expectation that the Board will provide the much-needed guidance and leadership for result driven and innovative approaches to reduce the carnage on our roads.”

Below is the list of members of the new board of the National Road Safety Authority:

1. Jermaine Nkrumah – Chairperson

2. Nathaniel Amonoo Wilson – Member

3. Ing. Mrs Rita Ohene Sarfoh – Member

4. Divine Yao Ayidzoe – Member

5. Mad Dorothy Afriyie-Ansah – Member

6. Ing. May Obiri-Yeboah – Member

7. DCOP Francis Aboagye Nyarko Esq – Member

8. Prosper Kafui Semevo – Member

9. Samuel Seth Passah – Member

10. Naa Shormeh Gyang – Member

11. Prof Alex Dodoo – Member

12. Victor Obeng-Adiyah – Member

13. David Okyere K. Agyeman – Member

The Transport Minister also inaugurated the governing boards of the Driver and Vehicle Licensing Authority, Ghana Shippers Authority and Ghana Maritime Authority at the same ceremony.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *